Health Authority Board

The Osage Nation Health Authority (ONHA) was enacted by the Osage Nation Congress through Bill Number ONCA 11-116 on September 30, 2011 and approved by Principal Chief John D. Red Eagle on October 5, 2011. It is the governing board responsible for consolidating and implementing the organizational structure of the Osage Nation Health & Wellness Division. It is organized to make decisions regarding the operations of all services and facilities of the Osage Nation Health & Wellness Division. And provide a framework for planning, direction, coordinating, delivering, and improving health services that are responsive to the community and patient needs and that improves patient care outcomes.

ONHAB consists of five (5) members who are appointed by the Principal Chief with the advice and consent of the Osage Nation Congress. The ONHAB membership must include at least three (3) enrolled Osage tribal members. All board members will serve a term of three (3) years. At the present time, one board position is currently open.

Health Authority Board 2022 Meeting Schedule

Board Members

Cindra Shangreau, Chair

Cindra Shangreau (Osage/Lakota) was appointed to the Health Authority Board by Chief Geoffrey Standing Bear on 12/19/2019. Cindra is a retired clinical pharmacy specialist. Cindra graduated from Pawhuska High School in 1974 and earned her Bachelor of Science degree in pharmacy from Southwestern Oklahoma State University in Weatherford in 1979. She worked at pharmacy posts in Tulsa and at Pawnee IHS and served the majority of her career, over 20 years, as a pharmacist with the Veterans' Administration Health Care System in Buffalo, NY and in Oklahoma City, OK. Cindra's father, Edward L. (Sonny) Shangreau, was one of the first Community Health Representatives for the Osage Nation and he instilled in her the desire to become involved in health services. I am humbled to be following the footsteps of those who went before to better the healthcare of the Osage people.

Mike Bristow, Board Member

Michael Bristow is a speech-language pathologist employed at the Encompass Home Health, Inc. in Tulsa. Mr. Bristow received his Bachelor of Science biology degree at Northeastern State University, Tahlequah; and completed his Master of Science Speech-Language Pathology degree also at Northeastern State University, Tahlequah. He is a licensed Oklahoma Board of Examiner for Speech Language Pathology and Audiology and the American Speech-Language Hearing Association (ASHA).

Cecelia Tallchief, Treasurer

Cecelia Tallchief (Osage) and her family have been lifelong residents of Grayhorse and have a distinguished history of Osage tribal leadership. The late John Tallchief and Charles Tallchief, Cecelia’s father and brother respectively, both served on the Osage Minerals Council. Cecelia served as an Osage National Council member in the mid- to late 1990s. Cecelia graduated from Fairfax High School, received an Associate Nursing degree from Northern Oklahoma College, and a Bachelor of Science Nursing degree (BSN/RN) from Pittsburg State. Ms. Tallchief has spent many years in the healthcare industry with experience in administrative, clinical, and community services. She also completed a three-year Tribal Management training program planning.

Following are current and past relevant experience:

  • Osage Nation Council member
  • Board Chair, Osage Nation Enterprises
  • Osage Home Health
  • Regional Representative American Red Cross
  • Advisory Board American Nurses Association
  • Pawnee Service Unit Health Board
  • Oklahoma Area Indian Health Board member
  • Osage Nation Health Authority Board member
  • Claremore Health Board
  • New Mexico Indian Nurses Association Board of Directors
  • President, Native American-Native Alaskan Indian Nurses Association, 2009-2011

Cecelia states, “The issue of healthcare has always been near and dear to my heart. As a Nation, we must try to improve healthcare for future generations through better programs and legislation designed to facilitate these goals.”

Tim Shadlow, Board Member

Hailey Kramer, Board Member