Family Violence Crisis Line
Trained Crisis Operators are standing by to discretely answer your call 24/7. Dial 866-897-4747
To empower those seeking our services with the tools they need to rebuild their lives and become the strong individuals they were created to be; to effect social change through outreach and education in order to put an end to inter-generational violence; and to partner with state, county, and tribal court systems and law enforcement to hold perpetrators accountable for their crimes.
VIDEO: OVC Tribal Financial Management Center: Supporting American Indian and Alaska Native Communities
WHO DO WE SERVE?
We serve any victim of domestic violence, family violence, dating violence, sexual assault, stalking or human sex trafficking on the Osage Reservation (Osage County) regardless of ethnicity; any Native victim residing in Oklahoma or Kansas; and any Osage victim regardless of where they may reside.
Abusers who require our services must be from Osage County if they are non-Native. The only service we currently offer abusers is the provision of an Ontario Domestic Assault Risk Assessment for the court or child protection agency. Abusers must call our main number at 918-287-5422 to provide needed information so that the assessment can be completed. You will not be seen without an appointment.
24-HOUR CRISIS LINE
Our Crisis line is answered 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. If our Crisis Operator is on the line with another crisis call you will receive a call back if you leave a message stating it is safe to call you back. Please be advised that for security reasons, the number appearing on your caller I.D. will be different than the crisis line number you called.
When the Crisis line is answered, you will merely hear “hello”. For your safety, the operator will not identify the line as a Family Violence Crisis line. If you ask the operator if you have called the crisis line, she will reply with, “May I help you?” This is to prevent batterers from checking your call log to find out if the call has been placed, which could put you in danger.
If you are unable to speak without being heard by your abuser, please feel free to text us. Again, let us know that it is safe to text you back. We have no way of knowing if your abuser is monitoring your phone.
Most protective orders in Osage County originate at the Osage Nation Family Violence Prevention Department. Our staff will assist you in filling out the petition, filing it with the court, making any necessary amendments, and accompanying you to the hearing for a final order. Advocates will also offer you a referral to Legal Aid for free representation when possible.
We assist victims with both tribal and district protective order petition assistance. If your case is not family violence related, you may need to attach a police report to your petition. Please call our main office prior to driving to Pawhuska to make sure.
The Osage Nation Family Violence Prevention Shelter is a 24-hour a day, 7 day a week shelter for all victims of family/domestic violence residing on the Osage Reservation (Osage County), for all Native victims in Oklahoma and Kansas, and for all Osage victims wherever they may reside. Our shelter does allow the minor children (of all ages and genders) of our victims to accompany them during their stay. The shelter provides a communal living environment where victims of family/domestic violence may develop a sense of community with the other shelter guests as well as with our staff.
Shelter guests will be provided with a myriad of daily activities and outings designed to increase independent living capabilities and improve self-esteem as well as just have fun with the other guests.
Due to Covid-19, only high-lethality cases are being accepted at the shelter until further notice. Please call our main number at 918-287-5422 and ask to speak to an Advocate if you are not in immediate danger so that we can determine if the shelter is a good fit for you during this pandemic. Due to Covid-19, all shelter guests will be required to self-isolate for the first two weeks of their stay with us. Guests will also be required to start a chart at the Wahzhazhe Health Center within 48 hours as well as take a Covid-19 test. You will be required to share results with the Advocate on duty for your file.
Walk in services are available to any victim of family violence, domestic violence, stalking, dating violence, or human sex trafficking, as well as to those referred to us by the Department of Human Services (DHS) or Osage Nation Social Services. Services are available from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday. In the event of an emergency after hours or on weekends please call the Crisis Line at 866-897-4747
If you would like to come to 𐓊𐒻 𐓂𐒹𐒰𐓆𐒷, our Family Violence Shelter, we can provide transportation if you have no other means to get there. We will ask you if you are in a safe place. For the safety of our staff, you must be in a safe place, well-lit and public. If you are unable to get to a safe place but still want to come to the shelter, we will call local law enforcement to request a civil standby while we retrieve you.
While at the shelter, if you have no other means of transportation, our staff will ensure that you have transportation to all appointments, job searches, housing searches, schooling, etc.
If you would like to leave our shelter, for any reason, we will provide transportation for you but may not take you to a private residence, for the safety of our staff.
Due to Covid-19, please inform the Advocate arranging your transport if you do not have a mask. Masks will be required during the entire drive and when interacting with any of our staff or other clients.
While you are a guest at our shelter, our staff will assess the skills you need to obtain, or strengthen, your independent living capability so that we may work together to ensure your success when you are ready to leave the shelter.
Native American clients (or those with Native American children) may apply for our Transitional Living service which provides financial assistance to victims who are working to rebuild their lives but need some support in starting that process. Application for this service does not mean automatic approval. Your case will be reviewed to determine if you are a viable candidate for this service or you may be put on a waiting list. When funds are exhausted, clients who have been approved will be put on a waiting list.
All clients may request referrals for counseling, medical care, or other services through the Osage Nation. Referrals may also be provided for county or state services upon request. Advocates are responsible for offering referrals and explaining what each agency can provide.
When you have been referred to us by DHS or Osage Nation Social Services, you will receive a danger/lethality assessment, which will be reported to the referring agency. We will also send them recommendations based on your score as well as your interview. Attendance at support group, or other service recommended to DHS, will be reported to DHS or Osage Nation Social Services (only with client permission) to show that you are compliant with our recommendations.
All Clients may attend one of our three DV support groups or our Healing Circle, which is a support group for survivors of sexual assault (including adult survivors of childhood sexual assault).
DV support groups are held on Tuesday evenings from 5:30 to 6:30 p.m. and on Thursday mornings from 8:30 – 9:30 in Pawhuska, and from 6:00 to 7:00 p.m. in Skiatook. These support groups are open to our shelter guests and victims within the Osage County community. The Healing Circle is held on Wednesday evenings from 5:00 to 6:00 p.m.
Due to Covid-19, all support groups are cancelled until further notice.
While you are a guest at our shelter, our staff Advocate will meet with you at least once each week for no less than 45 minutes to work with you on setting goals, achieving goals, answering questions, and reviewing your service plan. During this time, clients may receive additional referrals, have their Advocate communicate on their behalf with other agencies, or just listen and offer emotional support.
Walk-in clients and those who are referred to us from outside agencies will also be assigned an Advocate. While any Advocate in our office may assist you, your primary Advocate will do the lion’s share of the work on your case. Primary Advocates are assigned by the Director after reviewing your case.
Due to Covid-19, most work is being done via telephone for the protection of our clients and our staff. Please call and make an appointment if you are in a non-emergency situation. For those with an emergency, you may also call our main number at 918-287-5422 for immediate help during work hours or call our crisis line at 1-866-897-4747 after regular business hours.
Our Advocates also provides court advocacy. This means that you will have someone to go over court procedures and protocols prior to any court date, someone to go with you to file protective order petitions and attend hearings, and someone to provide for your security while attending court by requesting a private waiting room or a security escort to and from the parking lot. Legal Advocacy is not limited to protective order hearings. If you need special arrangements made in order to attend court, like a safe place to wait or a security escort to and from your car, please notify your primary Advocate to make those arrangements. If you would like your Advocate to attend court with you, you may call our main office to schedule your court date.
Our Director is also a certified legal Advocate through the National Tribal Trial College and so is able to represent parties in civil actions in those tribal courts that allow certified legal advocates.
Due to Covid-19, courts are either operating via telephone or video, or they are only allowing very few people in the courtroom. Please work with your Advocate prior to your court date to make sure what the court will allow and what the Advocate can accommodate.
The Osage Nation Family Violence Department has a partnership with Legal Aid Services of Oklahoma. Our clients will have access to attorneys, at no cost, for legal issues relating to domestic violence such as protective order hearings, divorce and custody issues.
Policies are in place to provide for the safety of our shelter guests. Upon discharge from the shelter, guests will work with their advocate to create a safety plan for their new surroundings. A copy of your safety plan will be kept in your file at the shelter in case of emergency.
All clients who fall into the categories of family violence, domestic violence, sexual assault, stalking, dating violence, or human sex trafficking will be offered a safety plan. Safety plans are an important element for victims whether they have left their abuser or have remained for one reason or another.
We may also, based on your situation, provide you with safety equipment such as personal alarms, pepper gel, new door knobs/deadbolts, motion detector lights or outdoor security cameras. We may also call local law enforcement in your area and asked for increased patrol in your neighborhood.
ADDRESS CONFIDENTIALITY PROGRAM
The Osage Nation Family Violence Prevention Department is a certified application assistant for the State of Oklahoma’s Confidential Address Program. If you would like to relocate and maintain a confidential address for your own safety, we can help you.
All Osage Nation departments are mandated by Osage law to accept address confidentiality verification cards along with a letter from Osage Nation Family Violence Prevention Department when victims apply for other Osage Nation services.
SEXUAL ASSAULT SERVICES
The Osage Nation Family Violence Prevention Department has a Sexual Assault Forensic Examination, Support, Training, Access and Resources (SAFESTAR) who provides services to victims of sexual assault 24 hours each day/7 days each week. If you have been sexually assaulted and want help, please call our Crisis Line at 866-897-4747