Child Care & Development Services
239 West 12th, Pawhuska, OK 74056
Carrie Rogers: 918-287-5363
Kendra Jones: 918-287-5306
Michelle Harding: 918-287-5317
Ashlee Walker: 918-287-5296
Destinie Lookout: 918-287-3325
CHILD CARE ASSISTANCE PROGRAM
The Osage Nation Child Care Program provides low-income Native American families with child care assistance and aids families in finding quality child care providers that are licensed through the State of Oklahoma DHS and by the Osage Nation Child Care Program. The Child Care Assistance Program is funded by a Federal Grant through the Department of Human Services and Administration for Children & Families. Certain requirements of the Child Care Program are necessary because of the federal regulations of the funding source. None of the funds used for child care assistance are tribal monies. If you need further information, please call Carrie Rogers at 918-287-5363 or email @email.
The Child Care Assistance Program services Native American children between the ages of 6 weeks to 12 years.
- Children must be under the age of 13
- Meet the definition of “Indian Child”
- Reside within Osage County
- Reside with a family whose income does not exceed 85% of the GMI for a family of the same size
- Reside with a parent/guardian that is working, attending job training or an educational program or resides with a parent/guardian that receives protective services
Definition of “Indian Child”
A Native American Child with a CDIB and/or a tribal enrollment card from a federally recognized tribe accompanied by a certificate of live birth; a birth certificate accompanied by the CDIB(s) and /or an enrollment card(s) of the biological parent(s); or an official tribal letter from a federally recognized tribe that states it does not issue CDIB cards, but can provide proof of descendency, by official letter, from a federally recognized tribe or is a foster child of a member of a federally recognized tribe; any child that is a step child living in the home of a member of a federally recognized tribe.
- State Certified Birth Certificate
- State or Tribal Child Welfare records; and/or
- Court Records: Final Divorce Decree, Adaption Records, Guardianship Records
- Social Security Card for all members in the home
- CDIB card or tribal membership card; a letter from Tribal Enrollment/Registration verifying eligibility for membership
- Parent CDIB, Tribal Membership Card or letter from Tribal Enrollment Office
- Proof of residency (must live in Osage County)
- Income Verification
- Work schedule/school verification
Client copays are paid through CCDF and/or CRRSA Funds through May 31, 2022.
The CCDF grant also allows the Osage Nation Child Care Department to license facilities and homes of child care providers. Child Care monitors and licenses all child care providers participating on the Child Care subsidy program. To be approved, the provider must submit and agree to a health and safety inspection at the facility where the child(ren) are being cared for. They will be visited a number of times per year to ensure their compliance with these laws and standards. If you need additional information, please call Michelle Harding at 918-287-5317 or Ashlee Walker at 918-287-5296.
Licensed Child Care Centers and Child Care Homes must be currently licensed by the Oklahoma Department of Human Services. Child Care Centers must meet a minimum of a 1+Star Rating.
Licensed Provider Application: Once a parent/guardian whose child(ren) is determined eligible for assistance by our program, and a parent requests care for that child(ren) in your home or center, you can fill out the Licensed Provider Application and submit it to our department.
Relative Providers are the grandparents, great grandparents, aunts, uncles, or adult sibling who are over the age of 18 years and do not reside in the home with the child. Relative Providers are exempt from DHS licensing. Relative providers must meet the tribes Health and Safety Standards of Operation and Quality of Service.
Monitoring Component: Each caregiver/provider that contracts with our program will be subject to unannounced visits/inspections of their home or facility by our compliance officer. These inspections are done in collaboration with the Oklahoma Department of Health and Human Services to ensure that state licensing requirements are being followed.
Although Relative Providers are not required to have a license through the State, our compliance officer inspects the home for health and safety requirements, as well as other Tribal requirements.
Search for people who are restricted from working in Child Care using the Child Care Restricted Registry (Joshua's List).
Use the Child Care Locator/Summary of Program Monitoring to view a summary of program monitoring reports for your a child care program or to search for quality child care in Oklahoma.
Websites that assist child care programs in meeting minimum licensing requirements and improving the quality of care:
The Center for Early Childhood Professional Development offers conferences, training opportunities, a video lending library, a trainer/consultant registry, Child Care Careers and accreditation support.
The Scholars for Excellence in Child Care Program awards scholarships to eligible child care professionals to complete coursework in the area of child development or early childhood education.
Parenting Classes are educational courses that teach parents general parenting skills, and help them develop and maintain positive relationships with their children. The primary goals of parenting classes include improving relationships between parents and their children, developing and practicing positive discipline techniques, and teaching parents how to deal with the daily responsibilities of maintaining a home and family, in positive ways. We take referrals from Osage Nation Social Services, Osage County Court, and OKDHS, but anyone can sign up and receive parenting classes, free of charge.
Love and Logic, Parenting the Love and Logic Way.
This program is designed to work with parents whose children are between the ages of 7 to 18 years old. The Love and Logic approach is dedicated to making parenting fun and rewarding, instead of stressful and chaotic. This program provides practical tools and techniques that help adults achieve respectful, healthy relationships with their children.
Children learn the best lessons when they're given a task and allowed to make their own choices (and fail) when the cost of failure is still small. Children's failures must be coupled with love and empathy from their parents. Parents can apply it immediately to a wide range of situations. This curriculum is a six week program, once a week, each lasting approximately 1 ½ hours. If you would like to know more about Parenting the Love & Logic Way, call Kendra Jones at 918-287-5306.
Love and Logic, Early Childhood Parenting Made Fun!
This program is designed to work with parents whose children are between the ages of birth to six years old. When parents start Love and Logic early in their children's lives, they dramatically up the odds that the teenage years will be fun…instead of frantic. Parents learn the easy techniques and skills to discipline without anger, lectures, threats or repeated warnings. This curriculum is a five week program, once a week, each lasting approximately 1 ½ hours. If you would like to know more about Love and Logic, Early Childhood Parenting Made Fun, call Kendra Jones at 918-287-5306.
Love and Logic, 9 Essentials Skills for the Love and Logic Classroom.
Are you an educator seeking to spend more time teaching and less time disciplining? This program is designed to provide educators an opportunity to make a lasting and positive influence in their school and their community. Love and Logic’s professional development curriculums for teachers and educators offer solutions and helpful ways to maximize impact in the classroom. Develop the classroom management skills necessary to take full control of time and resources, redirecting energy consumed by dealing with student arguments into positive, productive learning. If you would like to know more about Love and Logic, 9 Essentials Skills for the Love and Logic Classroom or to register for this educator’s course, call Kendra Jones at 918-287-5306.
Nurturing Parenting Programs
The Nurturing Parenting Programs are a family-centered trauma-informed initiative designed to build nurturing parenting skills as an alternative to abusive and neglecting parenting and child-rearing practices. The Nurturing Parenting Programs target all families at risk for abuse and neglect with children birth to 18 years. The programs feature activities to foster positive parenting skills with nurturing behaviors, promote healthy physical and emotional development, and teach appropriate role and developmental expectations.
Lessons from the curriculum is customized to meet the specific needs of the families. The Nurturing Parenting Programs are evidenced based programs that have proven effectiveness in treating and preventing the recurrence of child abuse and neglect. The Nurturing Parenting Programs are recognized by the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA), the National Registry for Evidence-based Parenting Programs (NREPP), and a number of state and local agencies as proven programs for the prevention and treatment of child abuse and neglect. . If you would like to know more about Nurturing Parenting Programs, call Ashlee Walker at 918-287-5296.
Crossroads of Parenting & Divorce
Crossroads of Parenting & Divorce is a five-step seminar designed to prevent divorce abuse—a specific type of emotional abuse that divorcing parents cause when, in their anger and bitterness, they lose sight of their child’s needs.
This video-based seminar will help parents become aware of how their actions may inadvertently harm their children, show how to establish positive post-divorce co-parenting relationships, and provide them with the skills they need to stay child-focused while minimizing poor choices amidst conflict and loss.
This seminar combines video, skill development and discussion and last 4-5 hours. Certificates of completion for all attendees. If you would like to know more about Crossroads of Parenting & Divorce, call Kendra Jones at 918-287-5306.
Please note: All programs are designed to be taught in a face-to-face setting. No internet based teaching of the programs are allowed.
The Book Mobile is a library on wheels. Our Resource Specialist visits schools and early learning facilities throughout Osage county to supply them with books and DVDs that are able to be checked out for a two-week period. There are currently over 3,000 books on the book mobile. If you would like to be added to the Book Mobile schedule, please contact Kendra Jones at 918-287-5306.
RESOURCE MOBILE PROGRAM
The Resource Mobile is a Resource Room on wheels. Die cuts, borders, pencils, glue, construction paper, craft supplies and more are housed inside the Resource Mobile. If you are an Osage Nation licensed child care provider within Osage County, you may request to be added to the schedule. Please contact Destinie Lookout (Resource Specialist) at 918-287-3325 or @email for more information.
This is a literacy program that works with physicians in Osage County. The physicians promote literacy with children and parents through the use of age appropriate books during their appointments.
What happens during the first few years sets the stage for the rest of a child’s life. Spending time together while reading aloud helps to create strong parent-child bonds and promotes healthy brain development. Children that are read to more often have improved language and listening skills.
The Literacy Program is designed to be implemented by medical professionals who provide primary care to children, from infancy through 12 years old. Both pediatric practices and family practices that deliver pediatric care may participate in our program. The medical professional introduces a new, developmentally-appropriate book into the visit for the child to take home, building a child’s home library. OSAGE NATION CHILD CARE PAYS FOR ALL BOOKS! If you would like to be on our program or would like more information, call Michelle Harding at 918-287-5317.
FAMILY FALL BOX!
Registration deadline is November 3, 2023.
QUESTIONS? Osage Nation Child Care Department at (918) 287-5591
or email @email.